World Cup 2018: The Complete Guide To World Cup Team Nicknames

The nicknames of teams participating at the 2018 World Cup in Russia range from the simple, such as Switzerland’s “La Nati,” which means “the national team,” to more elaborate ones, such as England’s “The Three Lions,” an homage to the Royal Arms of England. All of the names provide interesting bits of trivia about their respective countries.

Argentina – La Albiceleste (White and Sky Blues)

Australia – The Socceroos

Belgium – Les Diables Rouges (Red Devils)

Brazil – Selecao (The selection)

Colombia – Los Cafeteros (The Coffee Growers)

Costa Rica – Los Ticos (Spanish slang for Costa Rica natives)

Croatia – Vatreni (The Blazers)

Denmark – Danish Dynamite

Egypt – The Pharaohs

England – The Three Lions

France – Les Bleus (The Blues)

Germany – Die Mannschaft (The Team)

Iceland – Strakamir Okkar (Our Boys)

Iran – Shirane Pars (The Lions of Persia)

Japan – Samurai Blue


South Korea – Asian Tigers

Mexico – El Tricolor

Morocco – Atlas Lions

Nigeria – The Super Eagles

Panama – Marea Roja (The Red Tide)

Peru – Los Incas

Poland – Polskie Orly (The Polish Eagles)

Portugal – Seleccao das Quinas (Team of the Castles)

Russia – Sbornaya (Team)

Saudi Arabia – Al Sogour Al Akhdar (The Green Falcons)

Senegal – Les Lions de la Teranga (The Lions of Teranga)

Serbia – Orlovi (The Eagles)

Spain – La Furia Roja (The Red Fury)

Sweden – Blagult (The Blue and Yellows)

Switzerland – Rossocrociati (The Red Crusaders)

Tunisia – Les Aigles de Carthage (The Eagles of Carthage)

Uruguay – Charruas (A warrior tribe in Uruguay)


%d bloggers like this: