Modric Not Worried About Winning Ballon d´Or

Real Madrid and Croatia star Luka Modric is not worried about winning the Ballon d’Or, saying he had a great year whether he claimed the prize or not.

Modric, 33, is a favourite to win the coveted individual honour after helping Madrid to the Champions League title and leading Croatia to the World Cup final in 2018.

But the midfielder, already named FIFA’s Best Men’s Player in September, said he was unworried about the Ballon d’Or.

“I said last time I’m honoured to be in this competition for this great award,” Modric said after Croatia’s 2-1 loss to England in the Nations League on Sunday.

“If it happened, no-one [will be] happier than me, but if not, nothing will change.

“My year was great and that’s it.”

Croatia’s defeat at Wembley saw them relegated from League A of the Nations League after finishing third in Group 4.

The 2018 Ballon d’Or is the 53rd annual award ceremony recognising the best male footballer in the world for 2018. The winners will be announced on 3 December 2018 and, for the first time in its history, the Ballon d’Or Féminin and Kop Trophy will be awarded to the best woman and male under-21 footballer, respectively

The 30 nominees for the award were announced on 9 October 2018. Here’s the full list below:

Ballon d’Or

Rank Player Club(s) Points
Argentina Sergio Agüero England Manchester City
Brazil Alisson Becker Italy Roma
England Liverpool
Wales Gareth Bale Spain Real Madrid
France Karim Benzema Spain Real Madrid
Uruguay Edinson Cavani France Paris Saint-Germain
Belgium Thibaut Courtois England Chelsea
Spain Real Madrid
Belgium Kevin De Bruyne England Manchester City
Brazil Roberto Firmino England Liverpool
Uruguay Diego Godín Spain Atlético Madrid
France Antoine Griezmann Spain Atlético Madrid
Belgium Eden Hazard England Chelsea
Spain Isco Spain Real Madrid
England Harry Kane England Tottenham Hotspur
France N’Golo Kanté England Chelsea
France Hugo Lloris England Tottenham Hotspur
Croatia Mario Mandžukić Italy Juventus
Senegal Sadio Mané England Liverpool
Brazil Marcelo Spain Real Madrid
France Kylian Mbappé France Paris Saint-Germain
Argentina Lionel Messi Spain Barcelona
Croatia Luka Modrić Spain Real Madrid
Brazil Neymar France Paris Saint-Germain
Slovenia Jan Oblak Spain Atlético Madrid
France Paul Pogba England Manchester United
Croatia Ivan Rakitić Spain Barcelona
Spain Sergio Ramos Spain Real Madrid
Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo Spain Real Madrid
Italy Juventus
Egypt Mohamed Salah England Liverpool
Uruguay Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona
France Raphaël Varane Spain Real Madrid

Ballon d’Or Féminin

Rank Player Club(s) Points
England Lucy Bronze France Lyon
Denmark Pernille Harder Germany Wolfsburg
Norway Ada Hegerberg France Lyon
France Amandine Henry France Lyon
United States Lindsey Horan United States Portland Thorns
England Fran Kirby England Chelsea
Australia Sam Kerr United States Chicago Red Stars
Japan Saki Kumagai France Lyon
France Amel Majri France Lyon
Germany Dzsenifer Marozsan France Lyon
Brazil Marta United States Orlando Pride
Netherlands Lieke Martens Spain Barcelona
United States Megan Rapinoe United States Seattle Reign
France Wendie Renard France Lyon
Canada Christine Sinclair United States Portland Thorns

Kopa Trophy

Rank Player Club(s) Points
France Houssem Aouar France Lyon
England Trent Alexander-Arnold England Liverpool
Italy Patrick Cutrone Italy Milan
Japan Ritsu Doan Netherlands Groningen
Italy Gianluigi Donnarumma Italy Milan
Mali Amadou Haidara Austria Red Bull Salzburg
Netherlands Justin Kluivert Netherlands Ajax
Italy Roma
France Kylian Mbappé France Paris Saint-Germain
United States Christian Pulisic Germany Borussia Dortmund
Brazil Rodrygo Brazil Santos

%d bloggers like this: