2023 AFCON Qualifier: Super Eagles Camp For Sao Tome And Principe Opens On Wednesday

Super Eagles camp for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Sao Tome and Principe will now open on Wednesday in Uyo.

The camp was initially expected to open on Monday (today), but it has now been shifted to Wednesday.

The invited players are expected to start arriving in the country tonight. The list of 23 invited players was made public by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Sunday.

The encounter will take place at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo, on Sunday, September 10.

The Super Eagles, on 12 points from their previous five matches, are already guaranteed a place in the finals but must earn at least a point to be sure of topping the group.

You May Also Read: Pep Guardiola Been Considered As A Possible Replacement For Gareth Southgate After Euro 2024

Second-placed Guinea Bissau are on 10 points and play at home to Sierra Leone in Bissau. The 2023 AFCON finals will be hosted by Cote d’Ivoire.

Gent stars Gift Orban and Jordan Torunarigha, and Bayer Leverkusen star boy Victor Boniface are some of the new invitees for Nigeria’s 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Sao Tome and Principe next week,

Three-time African champions Nigeria will look to end the AFCON qualifiers on a high when they welcome Sao Tome and Principe to Uyo next week. The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has invited 23 players to camp.

Nigeria have already qualified for the tournament in Ivory Coast with 12 points after five games. Still, if they slip up against Sao Tome, they could be toppled at the summit by Guinea Bissau.


Some new players have been invited for the game. Gent stars Gift Orban and Jordan Torunarigha got their first call-up after some impressive performances for their club.

Also, Bayer Leverkusen striker Boniface, who has taken the Bundesliga by storm, scoring four goals in his first three games, has been invited.

Meanwhile, regulars Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze, Ola Aina, William Troost-Ekong, and Wilfred Ndidi have kept their place. However, Ahmed Musa was excluded.

Full List Of Players Invited For Sao Tome And Principe Match

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy); Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent, Belgium); William Ekong (PAOK FC, Greece); Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Gift Orban (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Boniface (Bayern Leverkusen, Germany).


%d bloggers like this: